top of page
Search
  • jessouellette15

Top Three Tricks

While reading Part I in Ryan Holiday's Trust me, I'm Lying: Confessions of a media manipulator, I found his content to be very interesting. The three most important tricks Holiday has described in his book are to make it all about the headline, to use technology against itself, and to just make stuff up (everyone else is doing it).


The first tactic that I found important was to make it all about the headline. The headline is what will catch the attention of viewers, who will in turn share the post, influencing other viewers to read the post as well. The title of the headline is important because each blog is competing against another in order to be the most read post as well as against other blogs on other story topics. Your headline needs to be provoking and click-worthy of the audience.


One tactic is to use technology against itself. Not making blog posts too long and headlines catchy enough to draw the attention of the audience, cutting the paragraphs into smaller sections. This may get rid of the thoroughness and supporting arguments of the article, but it will be straight to the point and easier for the viewer to read.


The tactic to just make stuff up (everyone else is doing it) is exemplified as bloggers who cover stories are fine with blurring the line between what happened and what almost or could have happened, because in the long run it is better for business.


I have to confess, one trick that has caught me in the past was to make it all about the headline. Last year, I saw an article on facebook, titled "Angry Orchard's Rose Hard Cider Is A Millenial's Pink Instagram Daydream". I immediately shared it on facebook. I didn't even bother to read the article or research if it was true or not, just because of how catchy the headline was and how badly I wanted it to be the truth.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page